Poetry Friday: Fierce Love

Fierce Love

Black clouds blanket the sunset
and warm winds tug me home.
My evening walk is followed by thunder,
the smell of rain breezing in
through windows thrown open for airflow.

You see, two scents melt my defenses:
one is rain, the other you.

Rain heals the earth tonight,
battering the rooftops and
spattering our garden and
spritzing me through a window screen.

The sky loves the earth
with a fierce love,
hindering my sleep.

I lie awake and wonder how it would be
to hold you on a night it rained.

Smile back

