Poetry Friday: Staining Cement

Staining Cement

Last night when we held hands
I felt your heart beat so fast
and I wondered why mine
didn’t.
You know I love you but my
heart stayed steady, so the blood
in me stayed cool.
I liked your hand,
all warm and strong and wrapped snug
in mine,
you saying you didn’t care about
sweat, but
I felt guilty that my heart
didn’t betray me like yours did,
like crime scene evidence
that my heart is broken, all the love
leaked out and staining
the cement and chalk.

Smile back

