I Will Love Who I Am

This isn’t a fashion blog. Obviously.

Today I decided to match some worn gray tennis shoes with too-short, loose skinny jeans from Ross, a cloth belt from the DI (a thrift store), and a T-shirt with a Sprint logo on it. I was going for the whole “I’m in college and I don’t care” look, which I really nailed.

I hope I’ve established over the year I’ve been writing to you that I have about zero interest in fashion. A good hair day for me includes achieving a hairstyle that isn’t sticking straight up or mashed down on one side. That’s what I need to feel like a contributing member of society.

It’s been years since I connected with other girls in the arena of appearances. I mean, I take personal hygiene seriously. Like, I smell okay. Generally I don’t sport noticeable stains. But sometimes I look around and notice that 90% of the girls around me, plus some of the guys, are wearing some kind of makeup. (Indeed, a few of them seem to be wearing every kind of makeup.) Where was I when everyone else was in the Has Fashion Sense line? (Prolly the Desperate Blogger line.)

Of course, this is only usually. Occasionally I’ll heed the siren call of sparkles and curls and frills. I get these strange urges to paint my toenails, throw on a bunch of makeup, and get my sister to curl my hair (I usually enlist her help in really difficult things like taking food out of the oven, answering the phone, going to the grocery store, etc.).

What does this sudden desire for femininity incarnate even mean? I dunno. But it’s part of who I am. It’s unpredictable and inconsistent. And it doesn’t even really matter.

I quote Janelle Monáe,

Am I a freak for dancing around?
Am I a freak for getting down?

Even if it makes others uncomfortable
I wanna love who I am
Even if it makes others uncomfortable
I will love who I am

P.S. Happy Tuesday, folks! Glad you seemed to have survived Monday. Onward we go.

Smile back

