Leelah: A Little Too Close to Home

Last night I stayed up until 4:40 a.m. because wind was beating incessantly at my window. I think I only fell asleep at that point out of sheer physical desperation. All day I’ve been off my groove, eating at weird times and avoiding social contact. (Well, that’s actually normal for me, but it felt more weird than usual.) And I read recently that by using the word “I” a lot in writing, you put yourself at a lower status than your readers.

So be it.

Oh, and let me just say, folks… Leelah Alcorn. Her suicide breaks my heart. I don’t even have words for this tragedy, because I feel like this could have been me just a number of weeks ago.

Something I noticed while reading about this was her ability to write poignantly. Solid grammar. Easy to follow. Concise, but long enough to get the point across. I have respect for people who can express themselves with the written word, and I’m glad she could immortalize herself is such beautiful writing.

I hope you all love and take care of yourselves. (I’m currently working on that myself.) This is a video with Laci Green and Rob discussing some basics about being transgender. I have zero experience in this area but I love how supportive and knowledgeable Laci Green is, so I keep pointing to her as a source. Do good things!

This is a news story about Leelah Alcorn posted at cincinatti.com:

http://www.cincinnati.com/story/news/2014/12/30/transgender-teen-death-needs-mean-something/21044407/

Although it feels a bit morbid to share the link to someone’s suicide note on this blog, her words are heart-wrenching and beautiful and I want them to be heard:

[Edited–I guess Leelah’s parents deleted her Tumblr account? Here’s the archived website: http://web.archive.org/web/20150101040547/http://lazerprincess.tumblr.com/ ]

“…The only way I will rest in peace is if one day transgender people aren’t treated the way I was, they’re treated like humans, with valid feelings and human rights. Gender needs to be taught about in schools, the earlier the better. My death needs to mean something…”

(Leelah) Josh Alcorn

Smile back

