Poetry Friday: Uh-huh and Deaf

Uh-huh

I know I am real
because I zone out so fully
that the “uh-huhs” I say
automatically prove that my brain
works, even if everything else
is far away.
It’s the same in school or reading
when I realize I’ve been following
along at a steady pace,
but I am so far away I sometimes
forget where I am going or
where I came from.

Deaf

It is so quiet that I wonder
if I am deaf,
if the people upstairs know I’m here
feeling nothing,
writing writing writing writing.
In my hoodie in my socks,
I wonder how many people know
where I am,
and how many care,
and who would notice
if I never went back up.

Smile back

