Poetry Friday: I Dissolve

These are technically guitar lyrics. I adjusted them to read more like poetry.

I Dissolve

The mountain mists highlight rays of sun
catching hidden blues and grays
my fingers clench around the steering wheel
I’m lost as thoughts of better days
sweep over me, overcome me
swallow me, and I dissolve

The engine cuts and I am more alone
that I have been in all my days
the first steps crunch and then there’s silence
I lose myself, and the forest’s ways
sweep over me, overcome me
swallow me, and I dissolve

The river dances up my body
‘til fingertips just touch the rays
of morning light on the surface
I close my eyes and let the waves
sweep over me, overcome me
swallow me, and I dissolve.

Smile back

