Adult-ness

This is me acknowledging real life. In dialogue form.

“Hey, Maney! How’s everything going?”

“Oh… pretty good. I’m applying to jobs and things. Trying to be an adult before I move out for college.”

“Hmm. Haven’t you been an adult for a while now?”

“Well, technically yes, but emotionally…”

“I see.”

“Yeah. It’s just, you know, once you do that initial move… it’s like you can never be an innocent home-residing human again. You’ve seen too much. Your limits have reached past your parents’ four walls.”

“Most people can handle that…?”

“Yes. Maybe I think more than most people. I just starting thinking, and I go down strange or dark paths in my mind and suddenly I’m on YouTube or Hyperbole and a Half, and I feel more comfortable in this nice, cushy, revolving computer chair.”

“But you seem so skilled at life! Look at your past grades and accomplishments! Or maybe that was someone else? A sister? Now that I think back, I agree that maybe you should be nervous about this move.”

“I’m glad we’re on the same page now.”

“Literally.”

“Gaugh. Never needed to hear that pun.”

*       *       *

The point, Readers, is that life is coming at me fast. The moral of this post? Maybe just that I’m trying to jump in with both feet, but it looks like there’s going to be some epic failing, flailing, and floundering. And you know what?

That’s okay.

(Special good thoughts are sent to my friend Spencer as I share this song by Florence and the Machine, “Dog Days Are Over.” I sing it when maybe my hair needs a little more flipping.)

One thought on “Adult-ness

  1. Pingback: The Tag Line | maney smiles back

Smile back

