Writers Unite

I’m supposed to be writing a paper on Lutheranism right now, but I was distracted by beautiful words. I’m kind of a fan-girl when it comes to IncresitySpeaks’ poetic writing. I seriously love their (gender neutral) stuff. Usually I’m kind of a freak about grammar and proper spelling and usage and stuff, but with this artist I make an exception. Their writing is just so pure and untainted by the color-in-the-lines attitude we were all force-fed in school. This quote is from their post “Her little hush box.”:

“We are all looking for ourselves, and we all have sad, secret little hush boxes. Whoever you are, I ask yourself to let it go. Let go of your hoardings.

I used to see her at school, she walked a little slower, as one would with a heavy box chained to their heart. I see the people walking all around. Most in a hurry with determined steps and sharp turns. They are all searching, searching for what they will never find in a box.”

I wish more people had this blogger’s raw talent. Heck, I wish I had it. Writing, to me, is more than just plugging in subjects and verbs. It’s like Red Smith said: “There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.”

. . .

Link to IncresitySpeaks’ “Her little hush box.”:

http://incresityspeaks.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/her-little-hush-box/

Smile back

