Jack Black, Thank You

I’m really grateful for people who put together funny movies with inspirational messages and gift-wrap them in Jack Black ribbons and paper. The couch and I watched School of Rock (again) tonight, and, man. There’s nothing like a good movie to set you free from the anxieties of life.

I’ll be honest, I don’t know much about Jack Black. Off the top of my head, I’ve only seen his movies Kung Fu Panda, School of Rock, Nacho Libre, uh… and parts of The Rocker and The Holiday. (To be honest again, I used Google. So, not off the top of my head. Hello.) What I know about Jack Black is that he is hilarious, a good actor, and he made me a happier person tonight.

(I feel like I have to clarify that I don’t advocate swearing, drug use, what have you–a few realities of the world the movie dared to portray. I don’t know exactly where to draw the line of “sin” when it comes to number of curse words in a movie. Some people stop liking movies because they find out bad things about the actors, but I feel morally okay about liking the awesome product of someone who is living their life differently from mine.)

In the immortal words of Dewey Finn (Jack Black), “Dude, I service society by rocking, OK? I’m out there on the front lines liberating people with my music!”

To the people who create art and share it with the world: Thank you. You make my life better. No, you are not defending our country from foreign attackers, transplanting vital organs in operating rooms, or teaching young children how to be good human beings, but you carry us all through the drudgery that is life. We all owe you so much. Keep creating.

Smile back

